Back to top

2023 Addiction Treatment Leadership Award Recipients Announced

The National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers (NAATP) announces the recipients of the 2023 awards for leadership achievement in the field of addiction treatment services. NAATP gives the awards annually to honor exemplary achievements, promote addiction awareness, and encourage the pursuit of excellence.


Nelson Bradley Career Achievement Award

Judy Crane

The Nelson Bradley Career Achievement Award is given to Judy Crane, who has served as a visionary and national leader and mentor in the addiction and trauma fields for over three decades. The award recognizes career achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to modern addiction treatment over the span of a career. In the past 15 years, Ms. Crane founded The Refuge, Spirit2Spirit Healing, and the Guest House Ocala. Ms. Crane has developed one of the country’s leading treatment centers specializing in integrated trauma/PTSD and addiction recovery as well as spearheaded Spirit2Spirit Healing, a movement in experiential and holistic therapies. She is a sought-after teacher on PTSD and sexual trauma resolution, and currently serves as a consultant for many of the country’s leading treatment centers.

Dr. Peter Hayden Diversity, Inclusivity, and Racial Equity Award

Dr. Carolyn Coker Ross

The Dr. Peter Hayden Diversity, Inclusivity, and Racial Equity Award is given to Dr. Carolyn Coker Ross. This award recognizes champions of diversity, equity, and inclusivity in the addiction treatment and recovery field. Dr. Ross is a tireless international advocate, speaker, and consultant on issues of cultural competence, antiracism, and diversity in mental health. Dr. Ross co-founded the Institute for Antiracism and Equity, a consulting group that offers DEI training to organizations on diversity, antiracism, and equity in the workplace. She is the CEO of the Anchor Program and author of several books in the field of eating disorders and Integrative Medicine.

Michael Ford Journalism Award

Paul Steinbroner

The Michael Ford Journalism Award is given to Paul Steinbroner. The award recognizes high standards of journalistic excellence in the awareness, research, writing, and presentations of addiction news that demonstrate the value of and need for addiction treatment. Mr. Steinbroner has produced and distributed over 50 films related to addiction, including educational materials and poignant documentaries. As co-founder of CNS Productions, he published eight editions of the textbook Uppers, Downers, All Arounders. He manages TouchPoint Productions and is completing the sixth documentary, titled Recovery Café, in the series, Called From Darkness.

Dr. James West Quality Improvement Award

Hanley Foundation

The Dr. James West Quality Improvement Award is given to Hanley Foundation. The award recognizes new and innovative clinical, operational, and systemic advancements that improve the quality and quantity of addiction treatment. The Hanley Foundation has long been fulfilling its mission to combat addiction through a comprehensive array of services in prevention, advocacy, treatment, and recovery support. The foundation provides substantial financial aid for individuals who cannot afford treatment and, by arranging for discounted treatment services with a variety of providers across the entire continuum of care, the Foundation is able to leverage their fundraising activities to help as many clients and families as possible. The prevention, community outreach, and education efforts of the Foundation have helped thousands of children to avoid becoming victims of the addiction epidemic.

Dr. Jasper Chen See Volunteer Leadership Award

Guadalupe Espinosa Rugarcía

The Jasper Chen See Volunteer Leadership Award is given to Guadalupe Espinosa Rugarcía of Monte Fénix, an NAATP Addiction Treatment Provider Member in Mexico City. The award recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer leadership primarily through board service and philanthropy. Much of the SUD service provided in Mexico City would not exist but for the dedication and generosity of Mrs. Espinosa Rugarcía. With over four decades of service founding and guiding Monte Fénix, she also created an addiction treatment program in Santa Martha’s Readaptation Center for Women with great success. With the simple mission of “help save as many people as possible from the addiction disease” her many years of service and contributions have served tens of thousands of people.

Founded in 1978, NAATP is a national professional membership association of addiction treatment providers. Its mission is to provide leadership, advocacy, training, and other membership support services to ensure the equitable availability and highest quality of addiction treatment.

The awards will be presented during NAATP’s 44th National Addiction Leadership Conference on May 21st, at the Crystal Gateway Marriott, DC, at Opening Night at NAATP National 2023. For more information on our annual awards and to view past award recipients visit  NAATP Addiction Leadership Awards.

Register to attend NAATP National 2023

More News

More Videos & Podcasts

Do you have news you’d like to share with the NAATP community?
If you are a member, submit your news today.