NEWS RELEASE

Denver, Colorado Contact: Kayla Huett

Release: Immediate 888.574.1008 <u>info@naatp.org</u>

NAATP ANNOUNCES 2021 ADDICTION TREATMENT LEADERSHIP AWARDS

The National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers (NAATP) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 awards for leadership achievement in the field of addiction treatment services. NAATP gives the awards annually to honor exemplary achievements, promote addiction awareness, and encourage the pursuit of best practices.

Additionally, 2021 will mark the inaugural year of the **NAATP Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award** recognizing champions of diversity, equity, and inclusivity in the addiction treatment and recovery field. The 2021 award goes to *Turning Point – An African American Association*. Turning Point, located in Minneapolis, MN, founded in 1976 as a pioneering program, offers individuals suffering from substance use disorder a culturally specific treatment program and environment. Turning Point Founder and CEO **Dr. Peter Hayden** will receive the award on behalf of the organization.

The James W. West, MD, Quality Improvement Award is given to attorney Alan Johnson of the Palm Beach County Sober Homes Task Force (SHTF). The award recognizes new, innovative, and successful clinical, operational, and systemic advancements that improve the quality and quantity of addiction treatment. Mr. Johnson earned the award through creative and courageous efforts to ensure quality and protect vulnerable citizens through the creation and operation of SHTF to combat unethical and illegal marketing and operation of addiction treatment programs and provide the public with the ability to seek out quality lifesaving addiction treatment.

The Jasper G. Chen See, MD, Volunteer Leadership Award is given to Larry Stetler of Geisinger Marworth. The award recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer leadership in addiction treatment through board membership and philanthropy. Mr. Stetler played a vital role in the founding of Geisinger Marworth, now in its 39th year, and his committed leadership as chairman of the advisory council has been indispensable. Mr. Stetler's courageous advocacy is a testament to the impact volunteer leadership can have. It is noteworthy that Mr. Stetler's early work came at a time when addiction was highly misunderstood and not to be spoken of publicly.

The Michael Q. Ford Journalism Award is given to German Lopez, senior correspondent to Vox. The award recognizes high standards of journalistic excellence in the awareness, research, writing, and presentations of addiction news that demonstrate the value of and need for addiction treatment. Mr. Lopez's writing humanizes a public health crisis that is often misunderstood and underrepresented. He brings to life for his readers the very purpose, as well as existing barriers, of policy change and how it can bring about real solutions at both local and national levels.

The Nelson J. Bradley Career Achievement Award is given to Pamela Rodriguez, who retired this year from her position as President and CEO of TASC (Treatment Alternatives for Safe Communities). The award recognizes the career achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to modern addiction treatment. In her 40-year career, Ms. Rodriguez made lasting contributions to modern treatment notably in advancing policy and practice to enable marginalized individuals and communities to receive otherwise unavailable quality care. Pam's early understanding of social determinants of care enabled the building of new and more equitable systems using data and evidence-based practices.

Founded in 1978, NAATP is a national professional membership association of addiction treatment providers. Its mission is to provide leadership, advocacy, training, and other membership support services to ensure the availability and highest quality of addiction treatment. The 2021 awards will be presented during NAATP's 42nd National Addiction Leadership Conference on Tuesday Evening December 7, 2021, at the Denver Downtown Sheraton Hotel in Denver, Colorado, at *Opening Night at NAATP National 2021*.

Congratulations to all the 2021 recipients! NAATP is proud to honor these exemplary individuals.