NEWS RELEASE

Denver, Colorado Contact: Tiffany Rode
Release: Immediate 888.574.1008 info@naatp.org

NAATP ANNOUNCES 2018 ADDICTION TREATMENT LEADERSHIP AWARDS

The National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers (NAATP), is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 awards for leadership achievement in the field of addiction treatment services. NAATP gives these awards annually to honor exemplary achievements, promote addiction awareness, and encourage the pursuit of best practices.

Founded in 1978, NAATP is a national professional membership association of addiction treatment providers. Its mission is to provide leadership, advocacy, training and other membership support services to assure the availability and highest quality of addiction treatment. The awards will be presented at NAATP's 40th Anniversary National Addiction Leadership Conference on Sunday Evening May 20, 2018 at the Omni Interlocken Resort in Denver, CO. The award ceremony will be part of Opening Night at NAATP National 2018. The event is sponsored by NAATP, Ashley Addiction Treatment, Caron Treatment Centers, Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation, and NSM Insurance.

The Michael Q. Ford Journalism Award is given to Sam Quinones, author of Dreamland: The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic. The award recognizes high standards of journalistic excellence in the awareness, research, writing, and presentations of addiction news that demonstrate the value of and need for addiction treatment. Dreamland played a major role in educating the public on the origin of the opioid epidemic, how it plagues the country, and the need for treatment.

The Jasper G. Chen See, MD, Volunteer Leadership Award is given to Benjamin Zintak, III, long time board member of Caron Treatment Centers. The award recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer leadership in the area of addiction treatment through board membership and philanthropy. Mr. Zintak's many philanthropic contributions include serving as Chair of the Open the Door Campaign that raised approximately \$70 million for scholarships, special projects, and capital support.

The James W. West, MD, Quality Improvement Award is given to Wilson Compton, MD, Deputy Director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The award recognizes new, innovative, and successful addiction treatment advancements, both clinical and operational, that improve the quality and quantity of addiction treatment. Dr. Compton's prolific research and publications have dramatically impacted the understanding of addiction's causes, consequences, and treatment.

The Nelson J. Bradley Career Achievement Award is given to Philip Eaton, President and CEO of Rosecrance Health Network. The award recognizes the career achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to modern addiction treatment. Mr. Eaton has been a leader in the field of addiction treatment for over 40 years, having begun his career as a social worker at Rosecrance in 1971. Named CEO and President in 1972, Mr. Eaton's vision and skill led Rosecrance to open the first treatment program for adolescents in Northern Illinois and to develop Rosecrance as an example of the finest addiction treatment in the nation.

Congratulations to all the 2018 recipients! NAATP is proud to honor these exemplary individuals.