## **NEWS RELEASE**

Denver, Colorado Contact: Chelsey Cusimano
Release: Immediate 888.574.1008 info@naatp.org

## NAATP NAMES 2019 ADDICTION TREATMENT LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

The National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers (NAATP) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 awards for leadership achievement in the field of addiction treatment services. NAATP gives these awards annually to honor exemplary achievements, promote addiction awareness, and encourage the pursuit of best practices.

Founded in 1978, NAATP is a national professional membership association of addiction treatment providers. Its mission is to provide leadership, advocacy, training, and other membership support services to assure the availability and highest quality of addiction treatment. The 2019 awards will be presented at NAATP's 41st Anniversary National Addiction Leadership Conference on Sunday Evening May 5, 2019 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington D.C. The award ceremony will be part of Opening Night at NAATP National 2019.

The James W. West, MD, Quality Improvement Award is given to OMNI Institute. The award recognizes new, innovative, and successful addiction treatment advancements, both clinical and operational, that improve the quality and quantity of addiction treatment. OMNI Institute is recognized for its research, analysis, and reporting regarding the tracking and measurement of addiction treatment outcomes obtained a over a three-year pilot program. The work produced the recently released 2019 Outcomes Measurement Toolkit, designed to guide addiction treatment programs toward effective and standardized outcomes tracking and reporting within their own centers.

The **Nelson J. Bradley Career Achievement Award** is given posthumously to former First Lady **Betty Ford**. The award recognizes the career achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to modern addiction treatment. Mrs. Ford is remembered and recognized for her life-long bravery, candor, and commitment to others. Her leadership and openness regarding her struggle with a substance use disorder made a powerful contribution to the de-stigmatization of the disease and led to the creation of the Betty Ford Center in 1983. Her leadership continues to impact addiction treatment and recovery. The award will be accepted by her daughter, Susan Ford Bales, who today serves as a trustee on the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation's Board of Trustees.

The **Michael Q. Ford Journalism Award** is given to **Barry Meier**, former New York Times journalist and author of Pain Killer: An Empire of Deceit and the Origin of America's Opioid Epidemic. The award recognizes high standards of journalistic excellence in the awareness, research, writing, and presentations of addiction news that demonstrate the value of and need for addiction treatment. Mr. Meier's prolific investigative reporting on Big Pharma and Substance Use Disorder serves as an essential foundation for understanding the devastation of the opioid crisis and the enormous need for a comprehensive national response including the provision of high-quality addiction treatment.

The Jasper G. Chen See, MD, Volunteer Leadership Award is given to Merlynn "Lynn" Colip, MD. The award recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer leadership in the area of addiction treatment through board membership and philanthropy. As a Valley Hope co-founder and Emeritus Member of the Valley Hope Board of Directors, Mr. Colip helped develop "The Valley Hope Way," treatment based on the principles of compassion and hope.

Congratulations to all the 2019 recipients! NAATP is proud to honor these exemplary individuals.